Tour de Romandie 2018, Fraile wins over Colbrelli on stage 1

Omar Fraile (Astana) takes the success on Tour de Romandie 2018 stage 2. The Spaniard gets the second seasonal victory taking the sprint in Delemont over Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain – Merida) and Alberto Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) after 166 kilometers of racing. Michael Matthews dropped the group on the last climb of today’s race so Primoz Roglic (Lotto Nl – Jumbo) is the new overall leader.

Today’s breakaway, at first made of Alexis Gougeard (Ag2 La Mondiale), Marco Minaard (Wanty – Groupe Gobert), William Clarke (EF – Drapac), Remy Mertz (Lotto – Soudal) and Antoine Duchesne (Groupama – FDJ), was reeled in with over 7 kilometers remaining. Marco Minaard and Alexis Gougeard, the last to give up, were joined by Daniel Martin (UAE Team Emirates) and Emanuel Buchmann (Bora – hansgrohe), who attacked from the group with 10 kilometers to go. When the breakaway was defenitively over Gougeard insisted and moved a counter-attack when the road was going downwards to Delemont but his attempt was called off within the last three kilometers of racing. Several riders tried to go clear because the race wasn’t controlled by any team and the situation was a bit chaotic. The most effective attack was moved by Rudy Molard (Groupama – FDJ). The Frenchman headed the race to the final hundred meters in the lead until the group caught him with just over 400 meters to go. Fraile approached the last 250 meters in first and nobody succeeded in overtaking the Astana rider.

Tour de Romandie 2018 Stage 2 Results

1 FRAILE Omar Astana Pro Team 4:03:42
2 COLBRELLI Sonny Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team ,,
3 COSTA Rui UAE-Team Emirates ,,
4 MOLARD Rudy Groupama – FDJ ,,
5 IZAGIRRE Gorka Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team ,,
6 BERNAL Egan Arley Team Sky ,,
7 LATOUR Pierre AG2R La Mondiale ,,
8 MEURISSE Xandro Wanty – Groupe Gobert ,,
9 KUDUS Merhawi Dimension Data ,,
10 CAPECCHI Eros Quick-Step Floors ,,

Tour de Romandie 2018 General Classification

1 ROGLIC Primoz Team LottoNL-Jumbo 4:09:16
2 DENNIS Rohan BMC Racing Team ,,
3 THOMAS Geraint Team Sky
4 ROSA Diego Team Sky
5 LATOUR Pierre AG2R La Mondiale
6 IZAGIRRE Gorka Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team
7 BERNAL Egan Arley Team Sky
8 CASTROVIEJO Jonathan Team Sky
9 ROLLAND Pierre Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
10 PORTE Richie BMC Racing Team

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button