Tour de la Provence 2018, Di Gregorio wins stage 3 – Geniez keeps the lead

Remy Di Gregorio (Delko-Marseille Provence) takes the win in stage 3 of Tour de la Provence 2018. The French, whose last victory dates back to 2013 Tour of Taiwan, wins on the top of the Col de l’Espigoulier after 146 kilometers of racing over Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie) and Tony Gallopin (Ag2r La Mondiale). Di Gregorio takes the spoils thanks to a one-kilometer-to-go attack, an attempt which proved to be the successful move for Delko-Marseille Provence’s rider. Alexandre Geniez (Ag2r La Mondiale), who finished in seventh, keeps the overall jersey due to the absence of time bonuses.

The first break of the day bears the signature od Justin Jules (WB-AquaProject-Veranclassic), Romain Feillu (Fortuneo-Samsic) and Julen Irizar (Euskadi-Murias), opening a 30 seconds advantage over the peloton after 15 kilometers from the start of La Ciotat. This try is called off because of the high pace ingrained by the head of the bunch. The second attempt of the day reveals itself the one: Jimmy Turgis (Cofidis), Ludovic Robeet (WB-AquaProject-Veranclassic), Julien Antomarchi (Roubaix-Lille Métropole), Marco Bernardinetti (Amore&Vita-Prodir) and Lucas De Rossi (Delko-Marseille Provence) escaped from the bunch after 30 kilometers of racing and reach a maximum advantage of 2’25” with over 95 kilometers remaining. The peloton jumps across the gap due to Delko-Marseille, Direct Energie and Ag2r La Mondiale’s deadly pace and with over 50 kilometers to go the peloton leads the race.

The first climb of the Col de l’Espigoulier, the ascent on which today’s finish is set, is done without the arise of any attack. With 35 kilometers remaining Tom Dernies (Roubaix-Lille Métropole) ekes out a 7 seconds advantage over the main group, which is not particulary worried about the French’s attempt. Dernies, thanks to the bunch’s carelessness, opens a minute gap. The peloton’s assestments reveal to be cautious and Dernies, on the slopes of the Col de l’Espigoulier, is caught.

With just over 5 kilometers remaining, Delio Fernandez (Delko-Marseille Provence) burn his matches. Also Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie) attempts to escape from the peloton but his attack revails too weak to be successful, not unlike the Fernandez’s try, called off by the chasers with 3 kilometers to go. Calmejane tries again but obstinacy doesn’t work as well as strong legs. With just over one kilometer to go Remy Di Gregorio attacks decisively and opens a small gap over the group, now composed of nine riders. Calmejane and Gallopin tried to ride across the move but the French attempt reveals itself the successful attack of the day.


1 DI GRÉGORIO Rémy Delko Marseille Provence KTM
2 CALMEJANE Lilian Direct Energie
3 GALLOPIN Tony AG2R La Mondiale
4 HIVERT Jonathan Direct Energie
5 LE TURNIER Mathias Cofidis, Solutions Crédits
7 GENIEZ Alexandre AG2R La Mondiale
9 FRANK Mathias AG2R La Mondiale
10 CHAVANEL Sylvain Direct Energie


1 GENIEZ Alexandre (Ag2r La Mondiale)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button