Tirreno-Adriatico 2018, Dennis takes the time trial – Kwiatkowski gets the GC

Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing) takes the Tirreno-Adriatico stage 7 time trial. The Austrailan time trial Champion stopped the clock on 11’14” and wins for the second year in a row the conclusive Tirreno-Adriatico time trial in San Benedetto del Tronto. In this way BMC Racing confirms its leadership in time trials after having won the opening stage of the Italian stage race. Jos van Emden (Lotto Nl – Jumbo) takes the second place and finishes just four seconds behind the stage winner. Spanish TT Champion Jonathan Castroviejo (Team Sky) stopped the clok on 11’22” and in this way gets the third place. Mads Pedersen (Trek – Segafredo) finishes in fourth whereas Italian time trial Champion Gianni Moscon (Team Sky) in fifth.

Thanks to a positive performance Michal Kwiatkowski, who finished today’s time trial in the top-20, is awarded of the general classification success. Damiano Caruso (BMC Racing) keeps the second place in the overall and the winner’s teammate Geraint Thomas ends in third and partially redeems the mechanical problem he suffered along the final kilometers of the Sassotetto up-hill finish stage. Together with the Maglia Azzurra, also the orange jersey has been assigned: Peter Sagan, the runner-up in the points classification, finished far from the top and didn’t get the points he needed to move up in first place. In this manner Jacopo Mosca (Wilier triestina – Selle Italia), who was part of the breakaway for three stage in a row, gets the Maglia Arancione.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 Stage 7 results

1 DENNIS Rohan BMC Racing Team  av. 51.39 kph 11:44
2 VAN EMDEN Jos Team LottoNL-Jumbo   + 0:04
3 CASTROVIEJO Jonathan Team Sky   + 0:08
4 PEDERSEN Mads Trek – Segafredo   ,,
5 MOSCON Gianni Team Sky   + 0:12
6 HEPBURN Michael Mitchelton-Scott   + 0:13
7 BAUER Jack Mitchelton-Scott    ,,
8 DURBRIDGE Luke Mitchelton-Scott   + 0:17
9 ROGLIC Primoz Team LottoNL-Jumbo   + 0:18
10 KIRYIENKA Vasil Team Sky   ,,

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 general Classification

1 KWIATKOWSKI Michal Team Sky   25:32:56
2 CARUSO Damiano BMC Racing Team   + 0:24
3 THOMAS Geraint Team Sky   + 0:32
4 BENOOT Tiesj Lotto Soudal   + 1:06
5 YATES Adam Mitchelton-Scott   + 1:10
6 LANDA Mikel Movistar Team   + 1:13
7 FORMOLO Davide BORA – hansgrohe   + 1:15
8 ROSON Jaime Movistar Team    ,,
9 BENNETT George Team LottoNL-Jumbo   + 1:16
10 URAN Rigoberto Team EF Education First-Drapac  +  1:22

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button