Tirreno-Adriatico 2018, BMC Racing takes the TTT – Caruso leader

BMC Racing takes the win on Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 stage 1. Today’s results confirm once more the strenght of American team in against-the-clock events and in this way gets the third victory in a row on the Tirreno – Adriatico opening team time trial. BMC Racing crossed the finish line 22’19” after having got off the launching pad placed in Lido di Camaiore. The red and black men covered the distance of 21,5 kilometers with the blistering average speed of 57,8 kilometers-per-hour, reaching the peak velocity of 67 kph. Damiano Caruso, who crossed in first the finish line, is the first overall leader of 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico. The Sicilian was also the opening leader of Italian stage race last year.

Team Sky on the eve of this stage was considered one of the most competitive teams for the stage success: according to several insiders, the most predictable favourite one. The feeling was soon confirmed: the British squad overtook Movistar, the first team that started, of 41″. Sky kept the lead until Mitchelton-Scott, which started in eleventh, did better of six seconds towards the team led by Chris Froome. At that point the impressive performance of Australian squad was yet to be surpassed by the astonighing one featured by Caruso and teammates. Italian rider is now 4 seconds ahead of Adam Yates, 9 of Chris Froome and Geraint Thomas, 15 of Bob Jungels (Quick Step Floors) and 25 of Sunweb duo made of Tom Dumoulin and Wilco Kelderman.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 Stage 1 results

  1. BMC 22’19”
  2. Mitchelton-Scott 22’23”
  3. Sky 22’28”
  4. Quick-Step Floors 22’34”
  5. Sunweb 22’44”
  6. Katusha-Alpecin 22’47”
  7. Bora-hansgrohe 22’49”
  8. Trek-Segafredo 22’58”
  9. UAE Team Emirates 23’04”
  10. EF-Drapac 23’04”
  11. Bahrain-Merida 23’08”
  12. Movistar 23’09”
  13. LottoNL-Jumbo 23’10”
  14. Astana 23’12”
  15. Groupama-FDJ 23’13”
  16. Lotto Soudal 23’17”
  17. Ag2r La Mondiale 23’22”
  18. Dimension Data 23’35”
  19. Gazprom-Rusvelo 23’44”
  20. Wilier-Selle Italia 23’53”
  21. Israel Cycling Academy 24’06”
  22. Nippo-Fantini 24’16”

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 Overall

1 CARUSO Damiano BMC Racing Team 22:19
2 DENNIS Rohan BMC Racing Team ,,
3 BEVIN Patrick BMC Racing Team ,,
4 VAN AVERMAET Greg BMC Racing Team ,,
5 DURBRIDGE Luke Mitchelton-Scott 0:04
6 IMPEY Daryl Mitchelton-Scott ,,
7 YATES Adam Mitchelton-Scott ,,
8 HEPBURN Michael Mitchelton-Scott ,,
9 THOMAS Geraint Team Sky 0:09
10 CASTROVIEJO Jonathan Team Sky ,

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button