Colombia oro y Paz 2018, Gaviria redoubles yesterday’s success

Fernando Gaviria (Quick Step Floors)wins stage 2 of the 2018 Colombia Oro y Paz. The Colombian rider take the spoils for the second day in a row thanks to a successful sprint on the streets of Palmira over Sebastian Molano (Manzana-Postobon) and Matteo Malucelli (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia), substantially replaying the balances proved in yesterday’s finish. Clearly Quick Step Floor’s rider keeps the overall lead.

Unlike the first 90-kilometers-long stage, today’s Palmira – Palmira is far more credible battlefield for the sprinters. To be held over 187 kilometers, the second stage in a row finishing in Palmira is the scene of a six-men-breakaway, whose names are Juan Osorio (Manzana-Postobon), Juan Esteban Arango (Colombia), Germán Nicolas Tivani (Trevigiani Phonix – Hemus 1896), Weimar Alfonso Roldán (Medellin-Inter), Adrián Richeze (Agrupacion Virgen De Fatima) and Carlos Julián Quintero (Orgullo Paisa). The peloton manages the gap and holds it into an under-control-fringe, jumping across it in the finale and in the sprint Gaviria surges again to the fore.


1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors                                                   3:49:30
2 Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (Col) Manzana Postobon
3 Matteo Malucelli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
4 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF
5 Mihkel Räim (Est) Israel Cycling Academy
6 Davide Vigano (Ita) Italy
7 Martin Laas (Est) Team Illuminate
8 John Murphy (USA) Holowesko-Citadel p/b Arapahoe Resources
9 Jairo Alonso Cano Salas (Col) EPM
10 Manuel Peñalver Aniorte (Spa) Trevigiani Phonix-Hemus 1896


1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors                                                   5:56:12
2 Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (Col) Manzana Postobon                  0:00:11
3 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Coldeportes Zenu Sello Rojo         0:00:14
4 Juan Esteban Arango (Col) Colombia                                                           0:00:17
5 Matteo Malucelli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec                                 0:00:19
6 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors                                            “
7 Simon Pellaud (Swi) Team Illuminate                                                          0:00:20
8 Rafael Aniba Montiel (Col) Orgullo Paisa                                                    “
9 German Nicolas Tivani Perez (Arg) Trevigiani Phonix-Hemus 1896     “
10 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF                                                           0:00:21

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button