Colombia Oro y Paz 2018, Gaviria dominates the opening stage

Fernando Gaviria wins stage 1 of Colombia Oro y Paz 2018. Quick Step Floor’s lieutenant take out the sprint over the compatriot Sebastian Molano (Manzana – Postobon) and his teammate Maximiliano Richeze. The Belgian team’s supremacy is legitimated by Alvaro Hodeg who finished in fifth, whereas Davide Malucelli (Androni-Sidermec-Bottecchia) placed in fourth. Fernando Gaviria is also the first leader of the race.

A massive crowd framed today’s race, the first categorized 2.1 by UCI ever held in this country. Since from the start everybody had knew that the finish would have been a grist for sprinters and nothing but the Colombian star Gaviria would have fit better for home fans to welcome the most important race taken place on colombian soil. The GC mirrors the stage classification, whereas the former Androni Miguel Angel Rubiano (Colombia Coldeportes), Rafael Aniba Montiel (Orgullo Paisa), Simon Pellaud (Team Illuminate), Jetse Bol (Manzana-Poastobon) and Jonathan Clarke (UHC) occupy a top-10 place thanks to by-the-course bonuses.


1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors                                                  2:07:05
2 Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (Col) Manzana Postobon
3 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
4 Matteo Malucelli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec
5 Alvaro Hodeg (Col) Quick-Step Floors
6 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF
7 Pawel Franczak (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
8 Davide Vigano (Ita) Italy
9 Manuel Peñalver Aniorte (Spa) Trevigiani Phonix-Hemus 1896
10 Miguel Bryon (USA) Holowesko-Citadel p/b Arapahoe Resources


1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors                                                   2:06:55
2 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Coldeportes Zenu Sello Rojo         0:00:01
3 Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (Col) Manzana Postobon                  0:00:04
4 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors                                           0:00:06
5 Rafael Aniba Montiel (Col) Orgullo Paisa                                                    0:00:07
6 Simon Pellaud (Swi) Team Illuminate                                                         “
7 Jetse Bol (Ned) Manzana Postobon                                                              0:00:08
8 Jonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling                             0:00:09
9 Matteo Malucelli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec                                0:00:10
10 Alvaro Hodeg (Col) Quick-Step Floors                                                       “

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button