Amstel Gold Race 2018, Valgren takes the win!

Michael Valgren (Astana) wins 2018 Amstel Gold Race! The Dane got the success of the Dutch classic thanks to the attack moved together with Roman Kreuziger (Mitchelton – Scott) with 2 kilometers to go. The leading group of two opened a wide gap on the chasing group from the beginning and they kept the advantage until the finish line. Enrico Gasparotto (Bahrain – Merida) went clear too and attempted to jump across the gap attacking with over 1,5 kilometers remaining. The Italian got very close to Kreuziger and Valgren but he didn’t chase the leaders: the latters sprinted for the victory and Valgren overcame the Czech. Michael Valgren gets in this manner the second success in this season after the victory achieved at the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

The fuse literally lit with over 29 kilometers remaining. Before the group hit the Fromberg nobody with the exception of the ones in the break, who went clear with 16 kilometers after the start was given, succeeded in attacking with success. Ion Izagirre attacked first but he was chased on the Keutenberg, on whose slopes Roman Kreuziger and Enrico Gasparotto moved a counter attack. The couple chased the break in the lead on the Cauberg, where Greg van Avermaet and Rudy Molard attacked from the group. Their attempt lasted briefly and, as soon as the Belgian and the Frenchman were chased, Alejandro Valverde attacked with 13 km to. The Spaniard was joined at first by Peter Sagan, Julien Alaphilippe and Michael Valgren but shortly after also by Tim Wellens and Jakob Fuglsang. The latter tried several times to go clear but the chasing group didn’t allowed the Dane to gain ground. The situation didn’t change until, with 2 kilometers to the finish line, Kreuziger and Valgren moved the winning move.

To learn more on how the race has evolved check out our live feed coverage  here

Amstel Gold Race 2018 Results

1 VALGREN Michael Astana Pro Team
2 KREUZIGER Roman Mitchelton-Scott
3 GASPAROTTO Enrico Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team
4 SAGAN Peter BORA – hansgrohe
5 VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team
6 WELLENS Tim Lotto Soudal
7 ALAPHILIPPE Julian Quick-Step Floors
8 FUGLSANG Jakob Astana Pro Team
9 CRADDOCK Lawson Team EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale
10 VANENDERT Jelle Lotto Soudal

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button