LIVE Tour of Flanders 2018, Terpstra takes the win

Niki Terpstra (Quick Step Floors) wins the 2018 Tour of Flanders. The Dutchman finishes in front of everyone the hundred and second edition of the most prestigious Flemish spring classic and gets the second monument race in his career after the 2014 Paris – Roubaix. Quick Step Floors rider attacked together with Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain – Merida) with over 27 kilometers remaining but dropped in a matter of a minute the Milano – Sanremo winner. On the Oude Kwaremont Terpstra chased and suddently attacked the three leaders but only Mads Pedersen (Trek – Segafredo) among the ones who were heading the race was capable of following the wheels of the Dutch. The pace set by Terpstra was irresistible and, with 18 kilometers to go, he went solo and resisted in the lead with about 20″ on Pedersen and 35″ of advantage over the chasing group until he crossed the finish line. Mads Pedersen sitted throughout the last stage of racing just behind Terpstra and finished in second, whereas Philippe Gilbert (Quick Step Floors) beated in a sprint of two Michael Valgren (Astana). Greg Van Avermaet (BMC Racing) won the sprint of the chasing group.

Tour of Flanders 2018 Results

1 TERPSTRA Niki Quick-Step Floors
2 PEDERSEN Mads Trek – Segafredo
3 GILBERT Philippe Quick-Step Floors
4 VALGREN Michael Astana Pro Team
5 VAN AVERMAET Greg BMC Racing Team
6 SAGAN Peter BORA – hansgrohe
7 STUYVEN Jasper Trek – Segafredo
8 BENOOT Tiesj Lotto Soudal
9 VAN AERT Wout VĂ©randas Willems-Crelan
10 STYBAR Zdenek Quick-Step Floors

Consult down here our 2018 Tour of Flanders live feed coverage to experience the race in the same way it has been tasted live!


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button