Gent-Wevelgem: Sagan dominates the final sprint

Peter Sagan took his 3rd victory at Gent-Wevelgem after dominating the field in the final sprint. The Bora-Hansgrohe rider kept his powder dry throughout the day and was well positioned in the front group from as far out as ten kilometres from the finish line. After several failed attacks, including a valiant effort from Education First-Drapac’s Sep Vanmarcke, the Slovakian World Champion accelerated off the front beating the favourites Arnaud Démare (Groupama), Elia Viviani (Quickstep) and Oliver Naesen (Ag2r) to the line.

Gent-Wevelgem in Flanders Fields 2018 Result

1. Peter Sagan (Bora Hansgrohe)
2. Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors)
3. Arnaud Démare (Groupama – FDJ)
4. Christophe Laporte (Cofidis)
5. Jens Debusschere (Lotto Soudal)
6. Olivier Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale)
7. Matteo Trentin (Michelton – Scott)
8. Zdenek Stybar (Quick-Step Floors)
9. Jasper Stuyven (Trek – Segafredo)
10. Wout Van Aert (Vérandas Willems-Crelan)


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button